GET AN EAR FULL HERE!

 

Music to sooth the soul…

The first time I heard of King Curtis was when I heard Duane Allman cover Soul Serenade. Being a devoted fan of the Allman Brothers Band I wanted to learn more about the music that influenced them so I started listening to this. A better saxophone player would be hard pressed to be found and tragically we lost this one on August 13th, 1971.

In the 1950’s his sax could be heard on big hits like “Yakety -Yak” by The Coasters and “Twistin’ The Night Away” by the legendary Sam Cooke along with numerous other hits. In the 1960’s he came into his own with the number one hit “Soul Twist” and “Memphis Soul Stew”.

Having a gathering in his home and being the gracious host he was he went to the basement of his brownstone in Harlem to turn down the air conditioning. When he came upon a junkie sleeping on his stoop he asked him to move and a fight ensued whereas Curtis was stabbed in the heart. We might have lost this great sax player to soon but we will always have him around to listen to.

Ray Charles aka “The Genius” brought us soul music as we know it today by combining r&b, gospel and blues. He also crossed over to country and pop music with style and grace. His musical curiosity was born in his hometown of Greenville Florida at the red wing café. The owner, Wylie Pitman would play boogie-woogie on an old upright piano and in time taught Ray how to play. His best friend was another great in music James Brown aka “The Godfather of Soul”. In 1983 he recorded a hit with Willie Nelson “Seven Spanish Angels” which hit #1 on the charts as a country duet. Ray brought us fifty-eight years of music to ease our minds and bring us joy and for that I thank him.

What can anyone say to describe the sound this “GOD” puts down? His other nickname is maybe more well known, “Slowhand”  turns 70 years young this year and true to his style is doing what he enjoys most. Clapton opts  to play eight celebratory shows split between New York and London (with six dates at the Royal Albert Hall).

The Yardbirds, Blind Faith, Cream, Derek and the Domino’s & John Mayhall and the Bluesbreakers are a few bands in which you can hear this legendary musician lay down some of the best riffs your ears will ever listen to. I first started listening to Eric back in the early 70’s and right from the first note he grabbed my attention and through too many rough patches in my life his music has lifted my soul. We had many things in common such as romantic heartbreak, drug addiction, isolation and close family members dying. I wish you a great birthday “Slowhand” and continued success in everything you do. Thanx for the music my friend.

Music is the one thing in my life that has never let me down. I heard it said in a movie one time “that the blues is nothing more than a good man feeling down” I really believe this and on the other side of that it could be said that happiness is music that makes you groove. It doesn’t matter what kind of music you listen to as long as it can make you want to move, lifts your spirits, puts a smile on your lips or has tears running down you’re face. Music moves all of us.

I’ll close this blog tonight with one last video that I want to dedicate to the woman who lights up my life as much as music does. Cheryl Borntreger-Daugherty, I love ya babe!

And remember my friends and followers: It’s only a weed that turns into a flower in the mind!

I Accept the Solution

I Accept the Solution

Peace everybody ©3/13/2015BeibeJones

 

 

 

 

~ by beibejones on March 14, 2015.

One Response to “GET AN EAR FULL HERE!”

  1. Awww….I love you babe ❤

Please leave all comments here

 
Dat Dank

keeping your stash sticky since 2010

Jnana's Red Barn

From Sunrise County in the Universe

Crime & Justice

Connecting criminal justice theory and practice

MyWords420'

Smile! You’re at the best site ever

420 Smokers Blog

Stoner's Paradise

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

A Country Hattitude

Country Music in every shade

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.